2024 Panelists

A trio of external review panelists convened to discuss applications and select this year's awardees from 38 total applicants:

Jaimey Hamilton Faris teaches critical theory and the history of contemporary art at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa. She is an affiliate faculty in Pacific Islands Studies, International Cultural Studies, and the Institute for sustainability and Resilience.

"Congratulations to the inaugural awardees of Hoʻākea Source. Your excellence and commitment to Hawaiʻi runs deep!"

Puni Jackson is an accomplished artist and Native Hawaiian cultural practitioner who has led endeavors in Hawaiian cultural and ‘āina-based educational programming for over 20 years. As an artist, Puni is known primarily for her large-scale painting and installation work and has exhibited nationally and internationally. 

"Hawaiʻi's art legacy is growing through the work of the 2024 Hoʻākea Source awardees.  Mahalo for the long vision of Puʻuhonua Society, investing in pilina, ʻāina, and kaiāulu.  E ola ko Hawaiʻi paeʻāina!!"

Patrick Flores, a Professor of Art Studies at the Department of Art Studies at the University of the Philippines and concurrently Deputy Director at National Gallery Singapore. He is the Director of the Philippine Contemporary Art Network.

"I only have heartfelt cheers to the first grantees of this inspiring initiative. I am confident that they will all fulfill the promise of their artistic vision and their commitment to the flourishing of their communities and the possibilities of change."